Songwriter and Composer

Matthew Puckett is an award winning songwriter and film composer based in Los Angeles, California. Originally from New York City, Matthew has worked with bands and artists such as: Rogue Wave, The Mowgli’s, Jillea, Marsha Ambrosius, Jeremy Jordan, Shawn Hook, Kris Allen, The 3AM, Clementine and The Galaxy, Royal Tongues, Glenn Philips, Beginners, Valen and Garrison Starr.

Matthew won a Peabody Award for his songs and score for the seven-part documentary ABC Series HOPKINS and was the recipient of an ASCAP Film/TV Award for his  song ʻSkylineʻ, the theme to the critically acclaimed ABC series NY Med.

Matthew’s new musical REBEL GENIUS was a finalist for the Jonathan Larson Grant presented by The American Theater Wing. REBEL GENIUS was produced at UCLA (Directed by Brian Kite), has been presented at the Lied Center/ASCAP workshop and the Atlantic Theater Company in NYC. Matthew’s unique film scores include: Guidance (Dreamworks/AwesomenessTV), Caught (Anna Camp), Before I Go (Annabella Scoirra), Best Friends Forever (Brea Grant, Selection SLAMDANCE), Dial A Prayer (Brittany Snow, William H. Macy) and Some Boys Don’t Leave (Jesse Eisenberg, Winner TriBeCa Film Fest) and TV scores for Gravity (STARZ) and Still Single (Showtime).

Other film and television music credits include: RIVERDALE (The CW), The Enemy Within (NBC), Katy Keene (The CW), Chance (HULU), Southpaw (dir. Antoine Fuqua / Weinstein Company) Eye Candy (MTV), NCIS: LA (CBS), Being Human (SyFy), Hooking Up (ABC), Held Up starring The Sklar Brothers (Feature/Sony), ‘Never Again’ (Focus Features), and Make It Or Break It (Disney), Finding Carter (MTV). Matthew co-wrote and produced the song “Cold Blood” by Valen featured in the videogame The Sims from Electronic Arts.

Matthew is the recipient of a New Musical Theater Works commission from IAMA Theater Company in Los Angeles for his song cycle The Evergreen. He is currently developing a new musical series for Brownstone Entertainment.

Matthew is a member of the Dramatist’s Guild and is published by Kobalt Music.


Film / TV Scores

Songs / Features

Royal Tongues
Being Human
Eye Candy
Clementine and The Galaxy
The 3AM
Pretty Little Liars
Jessica Mitchell - Heart of Glass
Royal Pains
Awesomeness TV
Ryan Innes The Inbetween
Rogue Wave
NY Med
NCIS: Los Angeles

Composer reel and audio available on request.

For commercial work please visit:

Photo by davidgabe photography